Defense Against Crime

13/01/2016

The Microsoft Support Scam

Mind you this is about the 4th or 5th  time I have gotten this call over the years….so I was aComputerScam bit surprised that these people are still using this old scam.

I just got a phone call from Canada from someone claiming to be from Microsoft technical support. The person with the heavy foreign accent told me that they have detected that my computer is affected by a virus that is causing my computer to run slow.

Raise your hand if your computer is running slow…..yep everyone

Then he went on and on about needing to get access to my computer so that they could ‘fix’ the problem.

I’ve been an IT professional for over two decades. I think I know a thing or two about windows, and Microsoft…namely they don’t monitor your computer. NOPE..They don’t.

Once I told them I was an IT professional..they hung up.

If you get this type of call you can do 3 things

  1. Just Hang Up
  2. Tell them you are going to report there number to the FBI, then hang up.
  3. Have lots of fun with them

 

Related Articles

PepperEyes Self-Defense, Safety and Security Store is dedicated to providing you with the best and most affordable self-defense products, survival and safety products on the market to meet the security needs of you, your family members or your business, by assisting anyone who is unwilling to become a victim of crime.  If you want to take personal responsibility for protection, home security, business security, purchase our high quality discount self-defense products. Survival kits  and arm yourself with the knowledge about self-defense and security products and information of the best way to stay secure in an ever-increasing violent world. In today’s society, being equipped mentally and physically is no longer an option

Blog at WordPress.com.

