Defense Against Crime

21/08/2012

Vendor Vetting

As a small business we get offers from companies who claim they want to help me expand my business. While I’m sure that many of them are legitimate offers, there are also those that are not.

The other day I received a call from a man named Frank from an internet radio program. He said that he hard heard of my company and wanted to ask me a few questions to see if I would be a good candidate for an internet radio interview about PepperEyes.com and what we are all about. I knew where this was a sales gimmick. He proceeds to ask about Onyx Knight, our products and our missions. Then he proceeded to tell me I would be a good candidate for their program, and then came the offer. The price of this interview was $2500. Mind you I’ve done lost of interviews, and profiles, and never had to pay 1 copper penny. I let him finished and then informed it that the policy of Onyx Knight Enterprises, was not to any offers over the phone without first getting something in writing and then doing a background check on the company. He said he didn’t do e-mail, but would have his secretary e-mail me the details.

This is the e-mail I received.


As per our conversation I will give you two 30 minute segments on air
with Tina Reynolds.We will also issue a press release announcing
you as a featured guest for the reduced payment of $ 2000.00 U.S.D.
You can also listen to some shows by going to our websites
.
http://www.ashfordradio.com and http://www.ashfordpublishing.com We will also give
you a 2 year membership in our registry with access to our other
members worldwide.. Any questions please call 
            516-222-2266      .EXT 166.

LOOK BEFORE YOU LEAP

Tell me… would you do business based on this? And the funny part is this is the second time this company has contacted me.

I sent him a reply e-mail complete with the link on our site on how we vet vendors before doing any business with them.

I’ve written about trusting your instincts, and doing research before doing business. Our typical approach is to check out the business name followed by the words SCAM, REVIEWS and COMPLAINTS. I also recommend checking the Better Business Bureau (BBB.org) to see their ratings.

Here is the reply I sent back

In response to your inquiry, we did some research consistent with the information that we sent you and how we vet vendors (http://www.peppereyes.com/page/473833781).While we know that no business is not without mistakes or complaints, we feel you are not a good fit for us.

Here is a list of what we found

Based on this information, we feel that it is not in our best interest to do any business with you at this time. We wish you well in your future endeavors.

While we recognize that all business are not free of criticism, and some criticism is bogus. We look at several sources and then trust our gut instinct.

What we suggest

  • TRUST your instincts
  • We highly advise that your company devise policies and procedures to protect them from scams, and then follow them.

PepperEyes.com
is dedicated to meeting the safety needs of you, your friends, your family members or your business, by assisting anyone who is unwilling to become a victim of crime. If you want to take personal responsibility arm yourself, or your business with our products and the knowledge of the best way to stay safe in an ever-increasing violent world. In today’s society being equipped mentally and physically is no longer an option. –a division of Onyx Knight Enterprises

2 Comments

  1. this is very useful and important information thanks

    Like

    Comment by Raymond Torres — 21/08/2012 @ 10:07 AM

  2. Here a ton of information here. Thanks! I’ll be back for more

    Like

    Comment by googlepo — 10/09/2012 @ 3:53 PM


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

