Defense Against Crime

23/02/2011

Robbery Prevention Tip of the Day

Filed under: Crime Prevention,Self Defense Infomation — peppereyes @ 5:10 PM
Tags:

Every Minute of Every Day in the United States someone is the victim of a Robbery. This is according to the United States Department of Justice statistics.

Recently a young college student was out walking when he heard a voice behind him say “Hey turn around”.  The victim turned around and observed a white male wearing a black hooded sweatshirt.  The suspect lifted up his shirt and revealed a black in color handgun tucked in his waistband.  The suspect told the victim to “toss me your wallet”.  The victim handed the suspect his wallet and the suspect told the victim to turn around.  The suspect then fled in an unknown direction.

As a matter of record more crimes are committed on the streets than in any other place. However by taking a few precautions you can greatly reduce your chances of being the next crime victim.

Limit Your Loses – Don’t carry lots of cash.

The premier rule is to limit your loses. It is in your best interest not to carry more than you can afford to lose. I was out with my wife for dinner, the day we bought our new house, I had $5000 in cash in an envelope in my pocket. I told money out to pay the bill and laid the envelope beside me while we were talking. When I got up to leave, I left the envelope. When I got home and didn’t feel the envelope, I remembered what I had done and was hoping the waiter didn’t think I left them a big tip. Needless to say the waiter turned in the envelope to the manager, who gave it to me when I came in. Needless to say the next day, I deposited that cash in the bank.

There is a urban legend of a famous woman who claimed not to carry more than $25 on her at a time because this was the going rate of a heroine fix at that time. Statistically, my street robberies are committed solely to finance drug addictions. If you do happen to be the victim of a robbery, what they take from you won’t break you, but $20 should appease the robber. I know a guy who carries two wallets, one for just for robbers, full of fake credit cards, and those million dollar gospel tracts.

If you do have to carry a bit more cash, then put it in different locations. Someone of may have had grandmothers who placed money in their bras. I’m not saying to go that far, but grandmas are known for their wisdom. If you’re a tourist, consider travelers checks.

PepperEyes.com is dedicated to providing you with the best and most affordable personal protection products on the market to meet the security needs of you, your family members or your business, by assisting anyone who is unwilling to become a victim of crime.  If you want to take personal responsibility for yourself, your home or your business, buy our high quality discount personal protection products and arm yourself with the knowledge of the best way to stay secure in an ever-increasing violent world. In today’s society being equipped mentally and physically is no longer an option.

1 Comment

  1. Great article. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Very useful information specially the last part. I care for such info a lot. I was seeking this certain information for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

    Like

    Comment by Kip Turchetta — 25/02/2011 @ 1:23 AM


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

