Defense Against Crime

22/06/2010

We want to buy your products

The other day I received the following inquiry in my e-mail in-box.

Hello,

DAVOG INVESTMENT INC. will like to order some of your products to Suriname, For the shipping, there is this company that a supplier used to ship
for us sometimes ago, ever since then we never have shipping problems, their service is very good, fast, reliable and secured when it comes to
shipping to Suriname. Finally our payment term will be Credit card,also kindly do include your Web-Site so we can proceed with product needed or
attach the available products you have in stock. We await your quick response, Our Website is
http://www.trimsllc.com/

Davog Investement Inc.
Groentenweg# 146
Nickerie
Nieuw Nickerie
Suriname
Suriname.
http://www.trimsllc.com/

Regards,
Antonio.

On the surface there does not appear to be anything wrong about this e-mail. After all I’ve sold my products to other businesses and even government agencies. However there is always something that makes me suspicious about anyone who just does order directly from PepperEyes.com’s web site. The site has a very secure shopping cart system and the payments are processed through PayPal which is very secure method of money transactions. Unfortunately, in this economy when desperation meets stupidity, bad things can happen. Now the one feature that my site does not offer is international shipping prices, the primary reason is that federal law prevents us from shipping our pepper spray and stun gun products of the country. However we also have other products such as diversion safes, spy gear, alarm products and security camera, and these are available to be shipped out of the country.

How to prevent from being scammed on the internet

  1. Beware of orders to a foreign country. While I have had orders come in from Canada and Australia, I’ve also gotten inquiries from customers who wanted to buy my products and ship to some place in West Africa (usually Nigeria). This is a big flag. This order was going to Suriname. (and we all know where that is)
  2. Especially large orders – On several occasions I’ve received inquiries for large orders that totaled over $5000. The person who sent me this e-mail did the same. Again, know who your buyer is. I’ve sold orders this big to government agencies, but my “Spidey sense” tingles when it’s to a foreign company with an unusual request.
  3. Spend enough time on investigating your potential foreign customer. – Unfortunately all of these scammers are not bright enough to change their script. So I just used the planetary databases (Google, Yahoo, Bing) to look up DAVOG INVESTMENT INC. One listing had this company linked to a company in Nigeria along with other company names. I also saw the exact same e-mail on www.419baiter.com
  4. If you are not sure if the company is legitimate – use your business rules. – Our site we have a policy page that states under which conditions we will sell our products.  Always make sure you have cleared funds before you send anything to a customer. Be sure to trust your instincts (if it seems too good to be true, it probably is).
  5. AVOID over payment scams – One of the big elements in these offers is where they want to Overpay you for your order and have you send the difference back. A buyer who wants to overpay (using a fake cashiers check), and asks you to send back the difference. If you see this type of deal – DO NOT do any business with them. Avoid  any buyer or seller who wants to use Western Union or Money Gram  especially overseas.
  6. They want to use a Special Shipping Company – one of the biggest flags of these scams is that they want you to contact their special shipping company who will come to your company to get the order and deliver it to their client’s door at a reasonable price. RED FLAG.  I’m not really sure what the angle is here, but to date I have yet to locate any of these companies who can ship from the US to anywhere in the world at a reasonable rate, on the internet.
  7. Have very clear company policies to prevent scammers – one of the things we did is place on our policy page  the specifics of what we will and will not accept.  It specifies how your can pay for your order, and how your order will be shipped.  It also tells potential scammers what are limits are.  This is for our customers protections and ours.

PepperEyes.com is dedicated to meeting the safety needs of you, your friends, your family members or your business, by assisting anyone who is unwilling to become a victim of crime.  If you want to take personal responsibility arm yourself, or your business with our products and the knowledge of the best way to stay safe in an ever-increasing violent world. In today’s society being equipped mentally and physically is no longer an option. 

3 Comments

  1. This is what I got today

    Dear Seller,

    Thank you for the response i’m ok with the Final asking price of the item I’ll be using this opportunity to let you understand that you’ll be receiving the payment in mode of check from my client and the amount you’ll be receiving will be more than the item fees.Payment will be sent to you immediately Like i told you i’m purchasing on behalf of my client and the excess payment is already sign and is my own commission with the money i’ll need to pay for our shipping company. So The payment will be sent immediately you agree with me to deduct just the amount for the item and send the balance through any western union Office well known to you and you’ll be receiving it the next day.There won’t be any problem about the shipment. I’ll be handling that with my (my shipping company) so i want you to get back to me asap now with your full mailing information. Email me your full name, address and phone#

    NOTICE:Take the item off advertisement at list because i don’t want another buyer to bid on it again cos i’m serious in buying this item very fast ok. I will be adding extra $20 to your payment for removing it on listing and make sure you inform me immediately you remove it on listing so that i’ll know that you done that for me ok.And I will also be responsible for any expenses that the transaction might cost you at the end.

    Regards

    Like

    Comment by George — 14/07/2010 @ 9:55 AM

  2. […] Crimes — peppereyes @ 11:44 Tags: Internat Domain Scam In one of my other posts titled We want to buy your products. I told how PepeprEyes.com often receives these e-mails that are internet scams. A few days ago I […]

    Like

    Pingback by Internet Domain Scam Alert « Personal Protection and Security — 19/08/2010 @ 12:00 PM

  3. […] We want to buy your products […]

    Like

    Pingback by Facebook Market Scams « Personal Protection and Security — 30/08/2010 @ 6:25 PM


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Blog at WordPress.com.

